10-Week Training Plan – HH42 / Week 3

Screen Shot 2017-05-07 at 12.16.36.pngScreen Shot 2017-05-07 at 12.18.13.png

This week’s training schedule was planned to be the second of 2 longer weeks – I did a 34-mile week, a 36-mile week (that was supposed to be a 50+) and I have just completed a 50-mile week.

I am happy – but still hungry for more. I killed my distances/elevation plan but only managed 20-miles on Saturday when I was supposed to hammer out 24.  Where I am struggling, to be honest, is getting closer to 3,000ft of gain per week – if you check back through my Strava, you’ll see an average +/- of around 2kE but I am extremely hungry for more elevation. Need to hunt that down – if you have any recommendations for big elevation areas within 5 miles of Harrow, let me know!

Screen Shot 2017-05-07 at 12.25.43.png

This week’s photo montage from Strava.

Now, the lack of long run is something that is weighing on me heavily. I have been following this 2-on-1-off training plan and am 3 weeks in but have yet to complete a 20-mile+ LSR. I know that, in order to complete HH42 I’ll need at least two 20-to-30 mile LSRs under my belt; if I want to compete at HH42 those LSRs will need to be comfortable, planned, executed well, and deliberate. Going into this new week of training (a ‘down’ week) I am excited to rest a little and try to prepared myself physically and mentally for the next LSR in two weeks time. A 26-mile training run, yeah.

Thanks for following along – I’m loving the feedback and encouragement on Strava, social media, and in person.

Leave a Reply

